Les Fuchsias se sont imposés dans la pratique en tant que  classique dans le jardin. Grâce aux variétés rustiques les plantes ne sont pas seulement pour le balcon ou pour la terrasse. Découvrez ici comment planter les beautés classiques ligneuses. Profitez d’une instruction détaillée pour l’entretien et l’hibernation.

Profil de la plante

  • famille de l’onagracées (Onagraceae)
  • genre fuchsias (fuchsia) avec plus de 100 variétés et 12.000 espèces au monde
  • de l’origine de la forêt de montagne de l’Amérique du Sud
  • Plante en fleur ligneuse et à feuilles caduques avec une apparition très variable
  • hauteur des plantes de 20 cm à 150 cm (droit) et 80 à 400 cm (grimpant)
  • période de floraison – selon de genre – d’avril à juin ou juillet à octobre
  • forme original de fleur avec sépales incurvées et 4 à 8 pétales autour de la tige
  • feuilles elliptiques à long pétiole à bord denté minimalement ou maximalement
  • baies vertes, rouges ou noires en différentes tailles avec peu de graines
  • dépendant de l’espèce rustique ou pas

Avec ses fleurs pendantes les fuchsias se sont présentés comme la plante classique dans le jardin d’été. Soit dans un plot de fleurs sur le balcon soit comme arbuste dans un parterre – les plantes ornementales s’intègrent idéalement dans l’environnement. Droit, suspendu le Fuchsia peut atteindre tous les niveaux.

Soin

Quelques-uns des variétés se développent dans un emplacement ensoleillé pendant autres prospèrent en ombre partielle. Apprenez ici comment planter les arbustes dans un parterre ou dans un pot. Notre instruction détaillée vous montre tous les aspects de la culture jusqu’à l’hibernation optimale.

Fuchsia

Les fuchsias ne sont pas appropriées pour la culture dans les espaces habitables, car il y a peu d’humidité ainsi que peu de lumière. Dans le pot ainsi que dans le parterre vous trouvez beaucoup d’utilisation pour les onagracées.

Le parterre

Culture dans le parterre

Les fuchsias rustiques sont similaires aux espèces sauvages et sont en conséquences robustes. D’avril à mai il y a des rameaux qui peuvent éclore du rhizome hiverné. Les rameaux fleurent de juillet jusqu’au premier gel. En hiver les rameaux se retirent complètement pour qu’ils puissent apparaître au prochain printemps. Lisez ci-dessous comment planter les fuchsias idéalement.

Emplacement

Avec une emplacement ensoleillé le fuchsia prospèrent plus dense et avec plus de fleurs que dans un emplacement semi-ombragé. Comme son système racinaire est très sensible envers la chaleur, l’ombrage du sol est optimal. Plantez l’arbuste avec la tête envers le soleil et avec le sol en ombre et la plante satisfait toutes les exigences.

Une vue d’ensemble vous présente tous les facteurs importants pour l’emplacement parfait pour les fuchsias:

  • endroits ensoleillés à mi-ombre
  • sol riche et humide
  • bien-drainé avec une bonne absorption de l’eau
  • avec un valeur idéale de 5,5 à 6,5

Fuchsia

Une sous-culture avec des plantes peu exigeantes ou des arbustes pas trop hauts disposent de l’ombre au système sensible. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser une couche de compost, herbe coupée ou paillis d’écorce.

Moment de la plantation

La rusticité d’un fuchsia est disponible au moment d’un bon système racinaire, donc le printemps est idéal pour le planter. Mettez les jeunes plants au plus tôt à partir de mi-mai dans le parterre, si selon le météorologue il n’y a plus de gel du sol. Si votre région est très froide attendez encore jusqu’au début de juin. La plantation devrait être faite au plus tard mi-juillet.

Plantation

Mettez le fuchsia en pot dans récipient avec de l’eau imprégner les mottes de racines avec de l’eau. Dans l’entretemps enlevez le sol de l’endroit des mauvaises herbes, racines et pierres. Ameublez le sol jusqu’à ce que le sol a une structure fine.

Continuez comme ça:

  • creusez un trou de 10 cm
  • Dans le trou creusez en un autre avec le double volume des mottes des racines
  • mettez le fuchsia 8 à 10 cm plus profond dans le trou qu’avant dans le pot de fleurs et arrosez-le

Le trou reste encore ouvert. Pendant la période entre l’été et l’automne mettez du sol proportionnellement à la croissance de la plante. Cette méthode sert comme préparation pour le gel et dessèchement pendant l’hiver. Si vous planter aussi les plantes qui servent comme sous-culture, c’est en même temps la protection hivernale.

Le pot

Planter dans le pot de fleurs

La plupart des fuchsias ne possèdent pas un niveau assez haut en ce qui concerne la rusticité pour survivre comme arbuste en plein air. Dans un pot de fleurs les buissons à fleurs rendent les balcons, les terrasses et les sièges plus beaux. Continuez ci-dessous pour savoir ce qui est important pour la culture.

Bac à fleurs

Dans un pot ou dans un back de fleurs, les mottes de racines sont encore plus vulnérables envers la chaleur que dans un parterre. Donc choisissez un pot dont le matériel ne s’échauffe pas si vite sous l’influence du soleil. Récipients en plastiques noirs peuvent être utilisés si vous les mettez dans un pot en argile ou si vous mettez les récipients sous une protection en ombre. En plus chaque pot devrait avoir une bonne absorption de l’eau pour qu’il n’y a pas de stagnation.

Fuchsia

Substrat

Un jeune fuchsia exige autres choses du substrat de culture qu’un fuchsia déjà adulte. Un terreau de qualité commerciale est déjà pré-fumié pour une période de 6 mois. Si le terreau est stocké dans le magasin ou chez le jardinier amateur pour une période chez températures plus hautes, la concentration du sel monte considérablement, comme l’engrais à longe période vient être mobilisé.

Pendant le premier été chez températures plus hautes la jeune plante se développe à un ‘fuchsia sec’ car il souffre de l’osmose inverse. Si les différentes concentrations de sel se rencontrent, celle plus forte s’impose envers celle plus faible. En conséquence les sels de substrats tirent de l’eau des feuilles tant que le jeune fuchsia fane malgré arroser régulièrement. Avec le choix du vrai substrat vous évitez ce problème.

Il faut faire attention aux aspects suivants:

  • planter les jeunes fuchsias dans un terreau sans torbe et peu préfumié ou dans un terreau précaire.
  • planter des plantes adultes dans un terreau riche sans torbe
  • optimiser la perméabilité avec l’ajout de laves granulée, perlite ou fibres de coco

Il faut aussi faire attention à la valeur ph de 5,5 à 6,5 du terreau fuchsia. Vous trouvez la valeur sur l’emballage, qui est respectée par la plupart des producteurs comme des tests indépendants montrent.

Moment de la plantation

Vous pouvez mettre les fuchsias sur le balcon ou sur la terrasse à partir de mi-mai. Vous pouvez aussi les mettre en dehors de la maison à partir de fin mars/début avril, si vous mettez les plantes dedans en cas des nuits froides. L’avantage est qu’ au début de la saison  les arbustes ont une avance de croissance significative. De plus les plantes sont pendant la période de transition plus robustes.

Emplacement

Sur le balcon les fuchsias se montrent dans toute sa splendeur, si l’endroit se ne trouve pas en plein soleil. Donc il faut éviter un emplacement en soleil de midi. Les plantes peuvent facilement supporter une pluie estivale.

Plantation

Avant mettre les fuchsias dans les pots, mettez les mottes de racines dans l’eau, jusqu’à ce qu’il n’y a plus de bulles. Avant de remplir le pot avec le substrat, mettez quelques morceaux d’argile sur l’écoulement de l’eau – ceux sert comme drainage. Tant que le matériel anorganique ne devient pas lessivable, ajoutez entre le substrat et le drainage un matériau non tissé imperméable et hermétique.

Creusez les fuchsias 10 cm plus profond dans la terre et arrosez-les. Dans un bac de fleurs de 1 mètre il y a de l’espace pour 5 à 7 plantes. Dans un pot suspendu avec un diamètre de 20 cm, 3 à 4 fuchsias peuvent se présenter idéalement.

Pot ou bac

Entretien dans un pot ou bac

L’entretien des fuchsias soit dans un pot soit sur le balcon est pour la plupart conforme. Ci-dessous vous trouvez les explications concernant les approvisionnements en eau, en éléments nutritifs ainsi que la taille.

Fuchsia

Arroser

Les fuchsias préfèrent un substrat humide qui devient sec dans l’intervalle. Donc c’est à vous de contrôler chaque matin avec le test du pouce s’il y a le besoin de l’eau. Les jours d’été les plantes sont au soir sèches tant qu’il faut les arroser. Si les feuilles de la plante pendent pendant une journée chaude avec un terreau humide n’arrosez pas encore.

Comme cela la plante se protège de la vaporisation et n’absorbe pas de l’eau. La conséquence serait une stagnation fatale. Quand la surface du substrat est sèche il faut arroser. Pour maintenir la valeur ph on propose l’utilisation de l’eau de pluie ou de l’eau déminéralisée. Ne versez pas de l’eau froide aux mottes de racines chaudes.

Humidité

Bien que les fuchsias ne soient pas une plante tropicale une humidité plus haute monte la vitalité et la floribondité. Pour cette raison vaporisez la plante pendant l’été avec de l’eau déminéralisée dans le matin. Remplissez les soucoupes des pots avec cailloux et de l’eau, la vaporisation imite un climat très humide.

Engrais

De mars à septembre les fuchsias reçoivent un engrais liquide avec du potassium dans un intervalle de 14 jours. Les préparations avec une combinaison NPK 16:9:22 donnent des bons résultats. Chez les plantes qui sont étaient juste transférées dans un pot l’apport de nutriments commence une fois que les réserves du substrat préfumié ont fini. Faites attention que l’engrais liquide ne vient pas au terreau sec. Premièrement arrosez avec de l’eau claire, avant d’ajouter l’engrais.

Taille

Pendant la saison les fuchsias n’ont pas besoin de taille. Plutôt enlevez toutes les feuilles fanées pour créer de l’espace pour les boutons de fleurs dessous. Comme cela vous évitez la croissance fatigante des baies.

Vous coupez le fuchsia correctement:

  • couper les fuchsias dans le jardin en mai/avril jusqu’à 20 ou 30 cm et ébrancher
  • couper les pots et les bacs avant de les mettre dedans pour deux tiers
  • En même temps enlevez tous les rameaux morts ainsi que le feuillage

Fuchsia

Vous favorisez une croissance dense et compacte, si vous couper les fuchsias en avril et mai une à deux fois. Quelques espèces tendent à faire une pause de floraison pendant l’été. Dans ce cas coupez la plante un peu pour lui donner de la vitalité.

Passer l’hiver dans le parterre

Les fuchsias dans un jardin ne peuvent pas passer l’hiver sans une protection.

Passer l’hiver en plein air comme cela vous réussissez:

  • ne pas couper les arbustes avant l’hiver
  • avant le premier gel couvrir les racines avec feuillage ou avec paille
  • enrober les rameaux avec un matériau non tissé qui peut respirer.
  • en cas de gel sans neige arroser un peu

En cas d’une journée non gel en mars les fuchsias devraient être couper en forme. Si la température ne descend pas en dessous de -5 degrés centigrade, les racines peuvent être libérer et vous pouvez enlever du matériau.

Passer l’hiver dans le pot ou bacs

A part des espèces rustiques les hivers sont trop durs pour le fuchsia. Donc il faut mettre les arbustes dedans avant le premier gel.

Passer l’hiver avec succès pendant l’hiver:

  • à la fin de l’automne couper tous les rameaux pour deux tiers de leur longeur
  • enlever toute la feuillage
  • mettre les récipients dans une chambre ombragée et froide avec les températures  entre 5 et 10 au maximum degrés centigrade
  • arroser très peu et ne pas fumier

La taille radicale avant de rentrer les plantes évite des nuisibles dans le quartier d’hiver. Vaporisez la plante de manière supplémentaire avec un insecticide atoxique à la base d’huile de colza pour éliminer aussi les larves et oeufs.

Pendant l’hiver

Pour que l’hivernation n’échoue pas à cause du manque de place il y a une méthode des jardiniers fuchsias. Dans le jardin vous creusez un trou si grand que toutes les plantes – soit avec soit sans pot – y trouvent leur place. Couvrez cela avec les planches de bois ou plaques de polystyrène. Sur cela mettez encore plus de protection en forme d’un tapis, plastique à bulles ou similaire.

Ce quartier d’hiver traditionnel n’exige pas de mesures de maintenance à part de la taille avant de rentrer. Il faut choisir un endroit pendant l’hiver qui peut éviter toute infiltration de l’eau.

Fuchsias have created a name for themselves as a real classic within creative compositions of plants for summer gardens. Thanks to the existence of hardy varieties, the colorful festival with its unmistakable flowers is not limited to balconies and terraces. Explore on this website how to these lignifying gorgeous flowering plants in tubs or flowerbeds. You will be sure to profit from this detailed set of instructions on tending and wintering.

Plant Profile

  • Family: Onagraceae (willowherb family, evening primrose family)
  • Genus Fuchsia with more than 100 species and 12,000 varieties worldwide
  • Originates from the mountain forests of South America
  • Lignifying, deciduous flowering plant with great variations in appearance
  • Growth height in cultivation ranges between 20 to 150 cm (erect) and 80 to 400 cm (climbing)
  • Flowering season (species-specific) from April to June or July to October
  • unmistakable shape of the flower: bent sepals and 4 to 8 petals centered around a long tube
  • elliptical leaves with long petioles and a slightly or considerably denticulate margin
  • green, red or black berries in different sizes with few seeds
  • depending on the species either hardy, hardy to a limited extent or not hardy at all

With their bowing, hanging flowers, fuchsias have established a reputation as indispensable classics within summer gardens. As lignifying decorative plants that will flourish either as a forb planted in a flowerbed as well as in a tub on the balcony, they can easily be worked into any creative layout plan. They draw attention to themselves at any growth height, regardless of their growth: erect, overhanging or trailing.

Care

Some of the most splendid varieties unfold their whole beauty in a very sunny spot, while others prefer medium shade. Learn on this site how to skillfully plant the striking subshrubs in tubs or flowerbeds. Our profound care instructions take into account all aspects of proper cultivation, including exemplary wintering.

Fuchsia

Fuchsias are not suited for cultivation in indoor living spaces, because they suffer from the low humidity und limited light. Planted in tubs, window boxes or as shrubs in a flowerbed, these plants from the willowherb family can be applied in various ways.

Bedding plant

Plants in a flowerbed

Hardy fuchsias are closely related to the wild types and are, therefore, robust. From April to May, they sprout sturdy rods out of the wintered rootstock, which will bloom from July on until the first frost occurs. The low temperatures during winter cause the shoots to draw back almost completely in order to bloom again in the coming spring season. Read below how to skillfully plant outdoor fuchsias.

Location

Outdoor fuchsias flourish to be more compact and richer in flowers on a sunny site than they do in half-shady spots. Because their root system is very sensitive to heat, the ground surface should be shaded. If you cultivate your flowering shrubs with their head in the sun and their feet nice and cool, all your expectations will be fulfilled.

The following brief outline contains all important factors for the perfect spot to grow a garden fuchsia:

  • sunny to half-shady site
  • soil that is rich in humus and nutrients
  • freshly-moist and with good water drainage
  • ideally with a slightly sour pH-value between 5.5 and 6.5

Fuchsia

The placement of plants that cover the ground or low-growing forbs provides the sensitive root balls with sufficient shade. A layer of mulch made of foliage, cut grass or bark serves this purpose just as well.

Planting time

Since winter hardiness does not develop until a fuchsia is well-rooted, spring turns out to be an adequate time for planting. Insert the young plants into the bed in mid-May at the earliest, given that weather forecasters do not announce any more soil frost. In locations with harsh winters, experiences gardeners wait for the cold spell around June 11th to be over. Planting should have been done by mid-July.

Planting

Put the fuchsia, still potted, into a container filled with water to soak the root ball. In the meantime, the soil in the selected spot is cleared from weeds, roots and stones. Thoroughly rake the soil until is shows a good crumb structure.

These are the following steps:

  • scoop enough earth for a pan of 10 cm in depth to develop
  • dig a hole for planting inside this pan, aiming for double the volume of the root ball
  • remove the fuchsia from its pot and place it in the hole, 8 to 10 cm deeper than it was in the original pot and water afterwards

Initially, the hole remains uncovered. Wait until the transition from summer to fall to fill up the earth proportionally to the plant’s growth. This procedure ensures the protection of the rootstock against frost and desiccation during the cold season. If you have decided for ground-covering plants for shading, these will serve as protection in winter as well, so the hole is not necessary.

Tub plant

Planting in a tub

The large majority of fuchsias is not hardy enough to survive as an outdoor forb. Planted inside a tub or windowbox, these flowering shrubs embellish balconies, terraces and sitting areas. Read below what needs to be considered in the process of planting.

Planting container

In the exposed situation of tubs or window boxes, the root ball is exposed to even more summer heat than it would be in a bed. Therefore, choose a planting container made of a material that is not easily warmed by the sun’s radiation. Black plastic containers can only be considered if placed in a cooling clay pot or under a sunshade. In addition to that, every container should feature a water outlet at the bottom to prevent waterlogging.

Fuchsia

Substrate

A plant you have propagated yourself or a newly bought fuchsia has other demands in terms of the substrate filling the pot than an adult, well-rooted plant. Commercially available potting soil is often fertilized for a period of up to six months. If the soil is stored at high temperatures for a longer period of time inside the garden center or at an amateur gardener’s, salinity increases dramatically, because the long-term fertilizer it contains is mobilized more quickly.

A young plant will turn into a ‘brine-fuchsia’ at high temperatures, because it suffers from the reversed osmotic pressure. When different concentrations of salt meet, the higher one pulls the lower one in. As a consequence, the salts in the substrate extract the intracellular water from the leaves, which will cause the young fuchsia to wither in spite of regular watering. This problem can be avoided by choosing the right substrate.

This needs to be considered:

  • Plant young fuchsias into peat-free, slightly fertilized standard potting soil or special substrate for young plants
  • Put well-rooted fuchsias into high-quality, peat-free tub plant soil that is rich in nutrients
  • Optimize permeability by adding lava granules, perlites or coconut fibers

When purchasing soil for fuchsias, also make sure a pH-value between 5.5 and 6.5 is guaranteed. The value is given on the packing and producers usually abide by it, as independent tests have proven.

Planting time

Fuchsias planted in a tub can be put on display on the balcony or terrace by mid-May. Under the premise that the plants can spend the cold nights behind glass until then, nothing speaks against planting them from the end of March/beginning of April on. This has the advantage that the decorative shrubs are given a headstart in terms of growth so they are well along once the gardening season begins. Furthermore, the plants are considerably hardened due to the transition phase.

Location

Placed on the balcony, fuchsias fully thrive when given a spot where that allows them to enjoy mild sunlight in the morning or in the evening hours. They should not be exposed to the direct midday sun. However, these decorative plants do not mind a light summer rain.

Planting

Before planting fuchsias into a tub or window box, be sure to soak the root ball in water until no more air bubbles appear. Place a few clay fragments over the water outlet at the bottom for draining purposes before filling the container with the substrate. In order to avoid silting of the organic material, insert a water- and air-permeable fleece between substrate and drainage.

Remove the soaked fuchsias from their pot and, put them about 10 cm deeper into the ground and water them. In a window box of 1 m in length there is room for 5 to 7 plants. A hanging basket of 20 cm in diameter provides room for decorative display of 3 to 4 fuchsias.

Beds and tubs

Tending in beds and tubs

When it comes to tending, fuchsias in beds and tubs are mostly alike. The following section explains in details all aspects related to water and nutrient supply as well as appropriate pruning.

Fuchsia

Watering

Fuchsias prefer a slightly moist substrate that is allowed to dry on the surface every now and then. Therefore it is necessary for you to check every morning by lightly pressing a thumb on top of the soil if the plant is in need for water. On warmer summer days, the plants are dried up until evening to the point at which they should be watered again. If a fuchsia can be observed with hanging leaves during a hot day even though the soil is moist, you should by no means add extra water.

This is the plant’s way of protecting itself against evaporation and it is not taking up water in this state. Fatal waterlogging would be the consequence. Only when the surface of the substrate has dried once again, it needs to be watered. We recommend the use of rainwater or decalcified tap water to preserve the soil’s slightly sour pH-value. Please do not frighten your fuchsias by pouring ice-cold water on top of a warm root ball.

Humidity

Even though fuchsias are not real plants of the tropics, increased humidity has a positive effect on their vitality and willingness to bloom. Therefore, spray the ornamental shrubs with decalcified water during the morning hours of summer. Filling the pot saucers with pebbles and water leads to evaporation and thereby a moist microclimate.

Fertilizing

From March to September, fuchsias are given are liquid fertilizer focused on potassium every 14 days. Compounds containing a NPK-mix in the ratio 16:9:22 have been proven very helpful. Freshly potted plants are given extra nutrients only once the supplies of the pre-fertilized substrate are depleted. Keep in mind that liquid fertilizer is not applied onto dry soil; instead, water first with a bit of clear water, then add the fertilizer.

Pruning

Fuchsias are not pruned in mid-season. Instead, consistently remove all withered flowers and leaves to create room for the buds that are situated underneath. By doing so, you will inhibit energy-sapping growth of berries.

This is what you need to know about pruning fuchsia correctly:

  • garden fuchsias should not be pruned until March/April, then cut them back to 20 or 30 cm and thin them out
  • in tubs and window boxes, they should be cut by two thirds before bringing them indoors
  • at the same time, remove a dead and kinked twigs as well as the entire foliage

Fuchsia

You can promote bushy and compact growth by cutting back the tips in April and May once or twice. Some species and varieties tend to put in a period in mid-summer when blooming stagnates. In this case it is advisable to prune weary plant just a little to give it new vitality.

Wintering in flowerbeds

Garden fuchsias do not withstand the winter outdoors without damage when they are unprotected.

This is how outdoor wintering will be successful:

  • do not prune the decorative shrubs before winter
  • preceding the first frost, cover the upper part of the roots with foliage, dried needle leaves or hay
  • wrap the twigs into a breathable fleece
  • if frost occurs on mild days during the time they have shed their leaves, water a little

On a frost-free day in March, your garden fuchsias are given an all-round pruning to shape and preserve them. Once no more temperatures below -5 degrees centigrade are expected, the roots can be freed and the cover removed.

Wintering in tubs and window boxes

Except for the few hardy varieties, the local winters are too cold for fuchsias. This is the reason they should be put inside well before the first frost occurs.

See below how to guide the exotic decorative shrubs through the cold and often dark season:

  • cut back all shoots by two thirds of their length in late fall
  • completely remove all remaining foliage
  • store the plant containers in a dark, cool room with temperatures between 5 and a maximum of 10 degrees centigrade
  • water very little and don’t fertilize

The radical pruning before taking them inside prevents pests that have settled inside the winter quarters from feasting on your fuchsias. Nevertheless, spray the plant with a nontoxic insecticide based on rapeseed oil to kill even the last grubs and eggs.

Creating space

To make sure healthy wintering does not fail due to of lack of room, experienced fuchsia gardeners resort to a time-honored method. For this purpose, they dig a hole in the garden big enough to hold all plants, with and without pots. This hole is covered with wooden and Styrofoam planks and. For additional protection, spread the dug-out material on top and cover it with old rugs, bubble wrap or similar things you may have at hand.

These traditional winter quarters does not require any special measure of caretaking apart from the pruning before putting it in. When choosing the site for this appliance, make sure that no water can penetrate the sides due to location on a hillside of a high groundwater level.