Le lilas appartient aux arbustes classiques de jardin ou aux arbres plus petits, qui exsudent l’essence du printemps. Les fleurs tubulaires, qui apparaissent sur le bois en mai, se développent en panicules colorées et offrent un parfum exquis et unique. Sans les fleurs, l’aspect du lilas est plus en arrière-plan. Comment tout faire correctement en cultivant le lilas,  ces instructions de soins vous montre cela.

Profil de la plante

  • Famille de plantes: Oleacea
  • genre: Lilas (Syringa)
  • Noms triviales: lilas, lilas, lilas
  • Origine: Asie et Europe du Sud-Est
  • petits arbustes ou petits arbres
  • Hauteur: entre 1,5 et 7 m
  • Période de floraison: Mai / Juin
  • parfumé, bleu-violet, rose ou blanc fleurissant-doré

Un lilas a une existence assez discrète tout au long de l’année – jusqu’à ce que ses fleurs s’ouvrent en mai et un spectacle spectaculaire pour les sens commence. Dans le cas des parfums séduisants, un lilas est à peine surmonté par une autre plante dans le jardin, et l’apparence extérieure de la plupart des panicules violet ou blanc laisse peu à désirer.

Alors que l’arbuste parfumé ne pouvait pas manquer dans un parc ou jardin de la ferme, il a été un peu dépassé ces dernières années. Maintenant, le lilas connaît un retour dans nos jardins avec de nouvelles variétés et aussi des variétés anciennes.

Syringa

De mai à juin, les arbustes lilas fleurissent partout dans le jardin. Parfois, le lilas est recommandé comme buisson de couverture pour la plantation de pentes ou comme protection contre le vent. Quelque polyvalent que soit l’utilisation du parfum, il mérite une position très spéciale dans le jardin, de sorte que sa beauté peut être appliquée.

Lilas se développe habituellement comme un arbuste abondant, parfois aussi comme un petit arbre de jusqu’à sept mètres de hauteur de croissance. Qui a un espace limité, est souvent mieux servi avec un membre nain.

Soin

Avec un buisson lilas vous obtenez une plante très simple et sans prétention dans le jardin, qui aussi pendant des années sans soins durables reste luxuriante. Ceux qui suivent quelques règles de base auront beaucoup de joie dans les arbustes et seront en mesure de profiter de l’odeur des fleurs chaque printemps.

Situation

À l’endroit où se trouve l’arbre lilas, une chose à noter est: Le lilas est un genre très ensoleillé et ne tolère aucune ombre. Pour cette raison, l’arbuste est mieux planté comme une plante solitaire, ou sur un mur sud-sud-ouest de la maison. Si le lilas reçoit trop peu de lumière, il fait diligemment des masses de feuilles, mais il ne fleurit que très lentement.

  • Exigence de lumière: plein soleil
  • au moins six heures d’ensoleillement par jour
  • Bonne circulation d’air est nécessaire
  • tolère le climat de la ville

Plantage

Le lilas se présente sous la forme d’un arbuste très simple, car il aime les sols riches en calcaire et riches en nutriments, mais aussi avec un sol acide faible. Pour que le bois puisse déployer toute sa beauté, le sol doit être fertile, humide et bien drainé pour l’eau. Si un arbre lilas est trop humide, il ne fleurira pas suffisamment.

  • humus
  • teneur moyenne en éléments nutritifs
  • humide à modérément sec
  • sableux-glaiseux et lâche
  • bonne perméabilité
  • valeur du pH: neutre ou légèrement calcaire
  • certaines variétés aussi légèrement substrat acide

Syringa

Temps de plantation

Pour que l’arbuste lilas soit bien enraciné avant de se dégager, la meilleure saison de plantation est en automne. Si vous avez manqué la saison de plantation en automne, vous pouvez également acheter une plante conteneur en fleurs au printemps et la planter dans le jardin ou dans un grand pot.

Plantage dans un parterre

Le lilas est livré avec tous les sols de jardin ordinaire, tant que ces derniers draines bien. Par conséquent, il n’est pas particulièrement difficile de trouver un endroit convenable dans une position ensoleillée dans le jardin, qui fournit des conditions de croissance parfaite pour l’arbuste ou l’arbre plus petit. Avant la plantation, le sol du jardin doit être bien desserré et un compost mûr doit être travaillé.

  • Profondeur de la plante: légèrement plus profonde que dans le pot
  • Exception: pour les sols humides
  • ici, drainage de première place
  • saupoudrer une colline légère avec le substrat
  • Plantez le lilas à environ 10 cm au-dessus du niveau du sol
  • Trou de plantation: au moins double taille de ballot – Bien arroser les balles des racines
  • Insérez la plante et complétez le sol
  • entrez facilement et arrosez

Pour garder le lilas sans fleurs, le sol doit rester libre de la pelouse, mauvaises herbes ou autres plantations d’environ un mètre autour de l’arbuste. Dans les premières semaines après la plantation, une quantité suffisante d’eau pour le parterre à fleurs est indispensable.

Plantage en pot

Presque tous les types de lilas peuvent également être cultivés dans des pots de plantes. Surtout les espèces de feuillage nain font peu de travail en raison de leur faible hauteur de croissance. De grands spécimens tels que Syringa vulgaris offrent une vue particulièrement belle toute l’année lorsque la croissance est sur un court « tronc ».

Pour que l’arbuste ne devienne pas trop volumineux, il faut enlever quelques petites ou très anciennes pousses chaque année. En raison de la sécheresse que le lilas tolère, il survit dans les récipients de plantage mieux que dans d’autres bois décoratifs.

Syringa

Substrat

Lors de la plantation d’un arbuste lilas dans un pot, il faut veiller à ce que le substrat soit parfaitement perméable à l’eau et à l’air. Il est préférable d’utiliser un substrat de pot de haute qualité, qui contient tous les composants déjà combinés.

Des mélanges propres peuvent être produits à partir de différents composants:

  • 70% de floraison d’humus
  • 10% de sable grossier ou fendu
  • 10% de granules de perlite ou de lave
  • 10% de compost ou de tourbe
  • selon le type: une poignée de chaux

Rempoter

Le lilas exige des pots de plantes relativement grands et stables. Non seulement les racines doivent-elles avoir un espace suffisant, mais pour les espèces plus grandes, le seau doit également être protégé contre les vents. Au début, un repeuplement annuel des jeunes plants est nécessaire.

Si, cependant, les spécimens plus âgés sont régulièrement coupés et ainsi limités dans la croissance, remporter est seulement nécessaire à des intervalles relativement longs.

Arroser

En période de faible précipitation, le buisson lilas doit être arrosé davantage. Cependant, cela n’est nécessaire que s’il ne pleut pas pendant une longue période de temps ou si les températures extérieures sont très élevées en été. Le lilas est sensible à trop d’eau, il ne doit donc être trop arrosé.

Fertiliser

Servez votre lilas chaque année avec une partie de compost mûr qui est soit répandu comme une couche sur le terrain ou est soigneusement ratissé sous le sol du jardin. Vous pouvez également mélanger une poignée d’engrais floraison de haute qualité (NPK 10-10-10) par arbuste sous le sol à la fin de l’hiver.

Mais en aucun cas s’il vous plaît, parce que les plantes qui sont fécondés ne fleurissent pas, mais la masse de la feuille de forme. Après la floraison, les sols très acides doivent être de chaux.

  • En fin d’hiver: une poignée de fleurs par plante
  • alternativement au printemps un certain compost mature incorpore
  • éventuellement chaux en juin A partir d’août, l’arbuste lilas ne doit pas être fécondé, de sorte que les pousses fraîches peuvent être feutrées avant les premières gelées et sont donc suffisamment Hiver-dur

Découpage

Un lilas doit être coupé soigneusement. Car le buisson pousse mieux quand on le laisse seul. Lilas forme ses grandes inflorescences sur le bois de deux ans. Par conséquent, si les pousses d’un an ne sont pas coupées, ils peuvent fleurir l’année prochaine.

Syringa

Coupe de soin

Bien sûr, vous pouvez couper le bois fané ainsi que mort ou malade dans une journée sèche. Les interfaces se dessèchent plus rapidement et se ferment mieux. Cela empêche la pénétration des maladies.

  • couper uniquement les jours nuageux, mais sec
  • printemps: couper les pousses gelées
  • pendant la floraison: couper le fondu au début
  • Soins: après la floraison
  • Retirer les branches mortes
  • couper les pousses malades jusqu’à bois en bonne santé
  • Tirant fortement des branches
  • se déplacer vers l’intérieur et les branches croisées

Section de rajeunissement

Si un vieux lilas est lentement tombé de forme, une coupe de rajeunissement radicale peut faire des merveilles. Une coupe radicale devrait être préférée en été. Il y a essentiellement deux façons de rajeunir le lilas. D’une part, l’arbuste entier peut être radicalement réduit.

Cela rend moins de travail, mais dure ensuite jusqu’à ce qu’il fleurit à nouveau (au moins deux ans). Une alternative appropriée est de raccourcir seulement un tiers des disques principaux pendant trois ans.

  • Temps: en principe toute l’année, le meilleur temps est en été
  • des arbustes plus petits: raccourcir tous les disques principaux à un mètre de hauteur
  • couper de grands arbustes et des arbres au niveau des yeux
  • Assurez une coupe lisse et propre
  • soit le tiers des pousses les plus anciennes au niveau du sol
  • enlever toutes les pousses de racine
  • Rajeunir les plantes de couverture de cinq ans (en coupant un cinquième chaque année)

Lilas est très facile à couper et restaure de manière fiable. Certains spécimens doivent être soumis à une coupe radicale tous les cinq à six ans en raison d’un manque d’espace. Quiconque coupe toutes les pousses à la fois doit s’attendre à ce que l’arbuste ne fleurisse pas dans les deux ou trois prochaines années.

Hivernage

Les plantes en plein air dans nos latitudes sont suffisamment durables en hiver (jusqu’à -30 degrés) et n’ont pas besoin de protection hivernale. Les tubes doivent être placés sur une plaque de mousse de polystyrène ou «pieds», et le tube doit être enveloppé avec un non-tissé pour empêcher le ballon de la racine de geler.

Multiplication

Puisque les graines du lilas germent seulement avec difficulté, l’arbuste peut mieux être propagé végétativement. Il existe trois façons différentes d’obtenir de nouvelles plantes: les boutures, les pousses et les bâtons.

Syringa

Le rejet

Dans les plantes plus anciennes il y a des rejetons, les pousses dites, qui se forment à partir des racines et la dérive hors du sol à côté de la plante. Vous pouvez creuser ces jeunes arbres en été et les transplanter dans un autre endroit du jardin.

  • généreusement creuser la terre autour de la pousse
  • avec un couteau tranchant séparez de la plante mère

Dans le cas des variétés nobles telles que «Charles Joly» ou «souvenir de Ludwig Späth», la méthode des pousses n’apporte rien, puisqu’elles sont pour la plupart des variétés raffinées. Le lilas fini est soit greffé sur privet soit sur de jeunes plants du type sauvage.

Bouture sur le bois

Une autre méthode très simple est la multiplication par agrafes. Il convient au lilas chinois (Syringa x chinensis), au lilas hongrois (Syringa josikaea) et au lilas arc (Syringa reflexa). Le taux de réussite est très faible pour les espèces d’arbres nobles. Puisque seulement environ chaque dixième morceau de bois est en croissance, vous devriez toujours couper le même nombre de broches.

  • Heure: Automne, après la chute
  • pousses bien développées d’un an
  • découper des morceaux d’environ 15 cm de long
  • les morceaux doivent se terminer par un couple de bourgeons
  • déchiqueter légèrement l’écorce au fond
  • placer dans un lit demi-ombragé avec de l’humus
  • couvrir avec un tunnel de rembourrage
  • En alternative: en serre non chauffée

Bouture

Presque tous les types de lilas sont disponibles. Cette méthode est principalement utilisée pour les hybrides. Pour ce faire, coupez plusieurs pousses de 15 cm de longueur au printemps. Enlever la paire inférieure de folioles et insérer les boutures dans une extrémité de semis humide. Dans un endroit chaud et semi-ombragé, les boutures s’enracinent dans les semaines ou les mois suivants.

Variétés

En plus des variétés à fleurs nobles avec leurs grandes fleurs denses, ce sont surtout les variétés française et russe, qui sont de nouveau à l’avance. Une des plus belles variétés du lilas appartient à la «Beauté de Moscou» avec des fleurs de porcelaine blanches polaires.

Syringa

Syringa vulgaris ‘Charles Joly’

  • Feuillage d’Edelf avec des arbustes à fleurs denses et envahis.
  • Couleur: Magenta
  • Hauteur: 3 à 7 mètres Syringa vulgaris ‘Primrose’
  • Edelflieder à fleurs denses et pleines
  • Couleur des fleurs: Mètres Syringa vulgaris Sensatio
  • fleurs singulièrement grandes en deux couleurs
  • Couleur de la fleur: violet avec ourlet blanc
  • Hauteur: 3 à 7 mètres

Syringa vulgaris Alba (fleurs sauvages blanches)

  • style lilas natif
  • très résistant
  • jusqu’à 20 cm de longues panicules blanches
  • Hauteur: 4 à 7 m

Syringa ‘Tinkerbelle’

  • Membres nains
  • Fleurs: à l’extérieur foncé, à l’intérieur rose vif
  • Hauteur: 150 à 200 cm
  • parfait pour les seaux ou les petits jardins

Syringa patula ‘Miss Kim’ (Boeuf nain coréen)

  • Membres nains
  • Fleurs: blanc avec un soupçon de bleu, très délicat
  • Hauteur: 150 cm

Syringa reflexa (arches)

  • grandes panicules fleuries en forme de fleur
  • Hauteur: 3 à 4 m
  • de préférence un sol légèrement acide

Maladies

Au bon endroit, le lilas n’est pas particulièrement sensible à certaines maladies. Toutefois, si la plante ne reçoit pas assez de soleil ou si le sol est trop humide, l’arbuste par ailleurs robuste devient plus sensible à diverses affections ou une infection bactérienne ou virale.

Syringa

Qui comprend:

  • oïdium
  • Maladie de laminage des feuilles (virus)
  • nématodes de nœud racine
  • Verticilium se fanent

Parasites

En été, vous pouvez parfois trouver des poux ou des chenilles de papillons ou du lupus lilas sur le lilas. En règle générale, les petits animaux ne causent aucun dommage significatif.

Syringa

The lilac (syringa) belongs to the classical garden shrubs and smaller trees, which emit the essence of spring. The tube formed blossoms, which appear on the wood in May, grow in colorful panicles and radiate an exquisite, unique scent. Without the blossoms, the visual appearance of the lilac shrub is stepping into the background. We will show you with our care instruction how to do everything right at cultivating the lilac (syringa).

Plant Profile

  • Plant family: Oleacea
  • Species: Lilac (Syringa)
  • Trivial name: Lilac bush, lilac, lilac shrub
  • Origin: Asia or Southeast Europe
  • Summer green shrubs or smaller trees
  • Growth height: Between 1,5 and 7 Meters
  • Flowering period: May/June
  • Scented, blue violet, rose colored or white blossom umbels

The lilac bush spends the whole year a rather unassuming life – until the blossoms open in May and the spectacular show for the senses is commencing. The lilac shrub can barely be beaten by another plant when it comes to enchanting scents; the looks; the appearance furthermore leaves for no desires with its mostly violet or white panicles.

While the scented shrub could not be missed in parks or farmers gardens, it has become out of fashion in the last years. Now the lilac appears to be back in fashion with new varieties and new species.

Syringa with colorful blossoms

From May to June, new blooming lilac shrubs (syringa) shine everywhere in the garden. The lilac is sometimes recommended as a covering shrub for planting on embankments or as wind shelter. However diverse the usage of the scented shrubs might be, it deserves a special position in the garden, in order to emphasize its beauty.

Lilac (syringa) mostly grows as a multi stem shrub, sometimes as a small tree of up to seven meters in growth height. Whoever does not have enough space is better saved with a dwarf lilac.

Care

You are getting a very uncomplicated and low maintenance plant for your garden with the lilac shrub, which blooms ravishingly even without elaborate care. Whoever adheres to some basic rules, will enjoy the wood very much and like the sight of scented blossoms which he is confronted with every spring.

Location

Concerning the location for the lilac tree one foremost has to abide by the following: Syringa, Lilac explicitly likes the sun and does not tolerate shadow. That is why the shrub is ideally planted at an exposed position or as solitary plant or on a southern or southwest facing house wall. If the lilac does not receive a sufficient amount of light it might grow leaf mass, however blossoms only to a moderate extend.

  • light requirements full sunny
  • at least six sun hours per day
  • great air circulation required
  • tolerates city climate

Soil conditions

The syringa, lilac shows itself as an uncomplicated shrub, as it loves lime rich and nutrient rich soils, does however also thrive in weak sour garden soils. In order for the wood to unfold its full beauty, the ground should be fertile, rich in humus and well permeable to water. If a lilac tree is too moist, its growth will be insufficient.

  • humus
  • moderate nutrient levels
  • fresh moist until moderately dry
  • well permeable
  • pH Value: Neutral to light in lime
  • some varieties like a slightly sour substrate

Syringa, Syringa Vulgaris Tree with buds

Planting period

In order for the lilac shrub (syringa) to properly root before driving out in spring, the ideal planting time lies in autumn. If you have missed the planting season in autumn, you can buy a blooming container plant in spring and plant it in a garden or a bit bucket.

Planting in the bed

The lilac tolerates every ordinary potting soil, if it is rid of water. That is why it is not exactly difficult, to find a suitable spot in a sunny position with sunny conditions in the garden, which offer the perfect growth conditions for the shrub or a smaller tree. Before the planting, the potting soil should be loosened and some ripe compost should be added.

  • Planting depth: Somewhat deeper than in the pot
  • Exception: With moist soils
  • begin with installing a drainage
  • fill up a small hill of substrate
  • plant the lilac approximately 10 cm over surface level
  • root bales should be well watered before planting
  • place the plant inside and complement the planting
  • slowly tread on it and water sufficiently

In order for the syringa, lilac stays ready to blossom, the ground should be free from grass in a one meter distance to the shrub. Weeds or other growths are staying. In the first week after the planting, a sufficient supply with water for the blossom shrub is inevitable.

Planting in the pot

Nearly all variety of the lilac (syringa) can be cultivated in planting pots. Especially the dwarf lilac varieties are low maintenance because of their small growth height. Big specimens like the Syringa vulgaris offer a nice look for the whole year through, if it grows on a short stem. In order for the shrub not to grow too big, a pair of very old or thin shoots should be removed through the year. As the lilac tolerates dryness, it survives in planting vessels better than other ornamental woods.

Syringa Vulgaris Tree with two green blossom buds

Substrate

When planting a lilac shrub (syringa) into a planting pot, one should take a focus that the substrate is permeable to water and air. Ideal is a high quality bucket planting soil, which already comprises all of the ingredients readily combined.

Your own mixture can be mixed with the following components:

  • 70% humus potting soil
  • 10% coarse sand or grit
  • 10% Perlite or lava granulate
  • 10% compost or peat moss
  • Depending on the variety: a hand full of lime

Replanting

Lilac requires relatively big, stable planting pots. Not only the roots require a sufficient amount of space, regarding bigger varieties, the bucket should be sheltered from wind and falling over. From the beginning, a yearly replanting of the young plants is necessary. If older plants are being regularly cut back and thus are hindered in their growth, the replanting is still necessary but with longer intervals between them.

  • in an older age choose, if possible, a big planting pot
  • has to include drainage holes
  • ideally choose heavy specimens from stone or peat
  • young plants should be replanted more often (at least yearly)
  • old bushes should be only be supplied with fresh earth every three to four years

Watering

In times of low precipitation, the syringa, lilac bush has to additionally be watered. This is only necessary, if it has not rained for a longer period of time and the temperatures are very high in summer. The syringa, lilac reacts sensitively on too much water that is why it should only be watered moderately.

Fertilizing

Supply your syringa, lilac tree yearly with a portion of ripe compost, which should either be added as a layer on the ground or carefully be raked below the garden soil. You can, per shrub, mix a hand full of high quality blossom shrub fertilizer (NPK 10-10-10) in late winter below the soil. But please, under no circumstances more than that, as over fertilized plants do not blossom, but only grow leaf mass. After the flowering, sour grounds should be limes.

  • Late winter: A hand full of blossom shrub fertilizer per plant
  • alternatively add some ripe compost in spring
  • possibly lime in June

Starting with August, the lilac shrub should not be fertilized, so that fresh tribes will wooden before the first frost occurs and there are sufficiently winter hardy.

Cutting

A lilac (syringa) should only be very moderately cut. The shrub grows the best, if it is left alone. Lilac grows its big inflorescence on two year wood. If the one year shoots are not being cut as well, they can blossom in the next year.

Syringa with white blossom panicles

Maintenance pruning

Of course you can cut out withered as well as dead or sick wood on a dry day. The cutting spots are drying faster and close in an improved fashion if done like that. This prevents the intrusion of pathogens.

  • cut only on cloudy, but dry days
  • Spring: Cut frozen shoots
  • During the blossom: Cut withered parts on the base
  • Maintenance pruning: After the blossoms
  • remove dead branches
  • sick shoots should be cut back into the healthy wood
  • remove weak and strong closing branches
  • inwards growing and crossing branches should be removed

Rejuvenation cut

If an older lilac tree (syringa) has slowly lost its form, a radical rejuvenation cut can do wonders. A radical cut should preferably be done in summer. There are generally two methods, to rejuvenate the lilac. For one, the whole shrub can be radically cut back. This cause less work, however lasts, until is blossoms again (at least two years). An acceptable alternative is, to cut only a third of the main shoots for three years.

  • Time: Generally perennially, with the ideal time being in summer
  • Smaller shrubs: Cut all main shoots to a meter
  • big shrubs and trees should be cut to eye level
  • keep an eye on a smooth, clean cut
  • alternatively cut back a third of the oldest shoots to ground level
  • remove all root sprouts
  • Hedge plants should be rejuvenated in a five year rhythm (Cat a fifth every year)

Lilac, syringa is very compatible to cuts and drives out reliably. Some specimens should be cut radically due to a lack of space every five to six years. Whoever cuts all of the shoots at once, has to be aware that the shrub might not blossom in the coming two to three years.

Hibernate

Outdoor plants are sufficiently winter hardy in our latitudes (up to – 30 degrees) and require winter protection. Buckets should be placed on a Styrofoam plate or “feet” and the fleece should be covered in fleece, to prevent the freezing of the root bale.

Multiplication

As the seeds of the lilac (syringa) are not germinating easily, the wood can be most easily multiplied in a vegetative way. There are three different methods, to get new plants. Cuttings and saplings.

Syringa, Syringa Vulgaris Tree with violet blossom panicles

Saplings

With older plants there are shoots showing, so called saplings, which grow out of the roots and shoot from the ground adjacent to the plant. You can dig out these saplings in summer and replant them on a different spot in the garden.

  • generously dig up the ground around the sapling
  • separate with a sharp knife from the mother plant

With top varieties like the “Charley Joly” or “memory of Ludwig Späth” the method of the saplings does not do anything, as they are refined varieties. Refined lilac is either being grafted on Ligustrum or on young seedlings of the wild variety.

Cuttings

Another, very simple method is the multiplication with cuttings. It is suitable for the Chinese lilac (Syringa x chinensis), the Hungarian lilac (Syringa josikaea) and the bow lilac (Syringa reflexa). The success rate with refined lilac varieties is very low. As only every tenth cutting grows, you should always cut the same amount of cuttings

  • Time: Autumn, after leaf fall
  • Select well grown, one year shoots
  • Cut pieces approximately 15 cm in length
  • The pieces have to close above and below with the bud pair
  • Abrade the bark on the side
  • Place in half shady bed with humus earth
  • Cover with a fleece tunnel
  • Alternatively place in unheated greenhouse

Cuttings

With nearly all syringa, lilac varieties, a multiplication with cuttings is possible. This method is primarily being used with hybrids. For doing this, cut approximately 15 cm long shoots in early summer. Remove the lower leaf pair and stick the cutting in moist cultivation soil. The cutting roots in a warm, half shady location in the next weeks or months.

Varieties

Aside from the refined lilac varieties with its big, dense blossoms, above all the French and Russian varieties are on the forefront of popularity. Belonging to one of the most beautiful varieties of the lilac is “Beauty of Moscow” with polar white, porcelain like blossoms.

Syringa with whits flower panicle

Syringa vulgaris “Charles Joly”

  • Refined lilax with a densely grown panicle
  • Color: Magenta
  • Growth height: 3 to 7 meters

“Syringa vulgaris “Primrose”

  • Refined lilac with a thick, full panicle
  • Blossom color: White
  • Growth height: Up to 7 meters

Syringa vulgaris Sensation (Refined lilac Sensation)

  • Noticeably big single blossoms in two colors
  • Blossom colors: Violet with a white seam
  • Growth height: 3 to 7 meters

Syringa vulgaris Alba (White wild lilac)

  • Domestic lilac variety
  • Very resisting
  • Panicles reaching a height of up to 20 cm long
  • Growth height: 4 to 7 meters

Syringa “Tinkerbell”

  • Dwarf scented lilac
  • Blossom: Outside dark, inside bright rose
  • Growth height: 150 to 200 cm
  • Perfect for buckets or small gardens

Syringa patula “Miss Kim” (Korean Dwarf lilac)

  • Dwarf scented lilac
  • Blossoms: White like with a hue of blue, very delicate
  • Growth height: 150 cm

Syringa reflexa (Bow lilac)

  • Long, overhanging panicles
  • Growth height: 3 to 4 meters
  • Preferably slightly sour ground

Diseases

Planted on the right spot, the lilac is not very susceptible to certain diseases. If the plant however does not receive a sufficient amount of sun or the garden soil is too wet, the otherwise very robust shrub is more sensitive and susceptible for a range of fungal disease or even a bacterial or viral infection.

Syringa with its matte green leaves

Belonging to it are the following:

  • Real mildew
  • Leaf roll disease (Virus)
  • Root knot nematodes
  • Verticilium withering

Parasites

In summer, one occasionally encounters lice or caterpillars from butterflies or the lilac moth on the lilac. Those animals are generally not causing a significant amount of damages though.